Shiftelio

Comparison · verified August 2026

Best attendance apps for construction sites in India, 2026

Construction breaks most attendance software for three reasons that have nothing to do with GPS: the crew mostly owns no smartphones, the wage is daily rather than monthly, and the headcount doubles and halves with the project. Eight platforms ranked on all three.

The short answer

Start with the phones, because most of this list assumes every worker has one.Three products here handle a crew that does not. In Shiftelio a supervisor marks the whole gang from one phone, and every such record is stamped with who marked it and scoped to that supervisor's own sites. Truein puts face capture on a shared device at the gate, which is the stronger control because it trusts nobody. PagarBook covers it as a manager-maintained daily register. The other five publish nothing about it at all.

Then check the wage type, and check it in the vendor's own comparison table.Kredily's free tier excludes overtime and daily wages outright, which on a site is the entire job rather than a missing feature. Everything you need starts at Rs 14,988 a year, and that tier still has no location of any kind.

Finally, watch the pricing shape rather than the rate. Truein charges Rs 69,000 a year before counting a single worker. Zimyo, HROne, factoHR and greytHR bill a block of roughly fifty seats whether you fill it or not, which is the worst possible shape for a crew that is eighty in March and twenty in July.

What 25 workers cost per year, at the tier that can actually do the job

Priced at the cheapest tier that can pay a daily wage and record a site, rather than the cheapest tier that exists. Where a base fee or a seat block applies, the row says so, because those are what move the real cost at this headcount far more than the per-user rate does. All figures exclude 18 percent GST. Every vendor here publishes in rupees, so there are no conversions on this page.

Annual cost for 25 employees with location verification enabled
ProductWhat you are buyingPer yearPer employee
ShiftelioRs 5,999 band, up to 3 sites. Rs 14,999 for more. Supervisor marking includedRs 5,999Rs 240
KredilyPayroll OS. Cheapest tier that can pay a daily wage. No locationRs 14,988Rs 600
PagarBookApp and Web, Rs 699 per employee per year, location includedRs 17,475Rs 699
ZimyoBasic. Geofence, no selfie. Billed as 50 seatsRs 48,000Rs 1,920
greytHRGrowth. Billed as 50 employeesRs 53,940Rs 2,158
SalaryBoxBusiness, without the tracking add-on. Figures dated June 2026Rs 58,500Rs 2,340
HROneBasic. Offline attendance included. Billed as 50 usersRs 59,400Rs 2,376
TrueinTime Capture with live tracking, after the Rs 69,000 per-customer base feeRs 80,250Rs 3,210
SalaryBoxBusiness plus the Rs 100 per user tracking add-on. Dated June 2026Rs 88,500Rs 3,540
greytHRGrowth plus the Rs 140 per user live-tracking add-onRs 95,940Rs 3,838
ZimyoStandard. The tier that adds the selfie, for everybodyRs 96,000Rs 3,840

Sources, per row: Shiftelio from our own pricing page, with the supervisor-marking guarantees checked against our own source tree rather than our marketing. Kredily, Zimyo, greytHR, HROne and Truein from their own India pricing pages read in August 2026, including the stated seat minimums, base fees and add-on rows. PagarBook from its published per-employee rates read in August 2026. SalaryBox is the one stale row on this page: its figures were read in June 2026 and its page could not be re-read in August 2026, so it carries the older date deliberately rather than a fresher one it has not earned. Ask any vendor for a quote at your own headcount rather than trusting a table, including this one.

Can it record a worker who owns no smartphone

The first question on a construction site and the one most attendance software quietly assumes away. Read the answers for who is being trusted as much as for whether it works: an app that lets a foreman mark a gang has moved the problem to the foreman, and only one option here removes the human from the loop entirely.

  • IncludedShiftelioYes. A supervisor marks the whole crew from one phone. Every record is stamped with who marked it, scoped to that supervisor’s own sites and departments, cannot be used on themselves, and can be sent for approval
  • IncludedTrueinYes, and more strongly. Face capture on a shared device at the gate removes the worker’s phone and the supervisor from the process entirely
  • IncludedPagarBookA daily-wage register a manager maintains, which covers the case in practice, though the guarantees around who may mark whom are not published the way ours are
  • Costs extraKredilyNothing published. Free tier excludes overtime and daily wages outright, which is the more serious gap here
  • Costs extraHROneNothing published for phone-less workers, though offline capture in Basic is the best answer here to a site with no signal
  • Costs extragreytHRNothing published for phone-less workers
  • Costs extraSalaryBoxNothing published for phone-less workers. Location is a Rs 100 per user per month add-on
  • Costs extraZimyoNothing published for phone-less workers, and the 50-user minimum is the wrong shape for a headcount that moves with the project

How this list was ranked

By fit for a construction site: phone-less workers first, then whether a daily wage can be paid at all, then whether the pricing shape survives a headcount that moves with the project. Not by GPS capability, which is what our other comparisons rank on and which decides much less here than buyers expect.

  • The most expensive product on the page ranks second. Truein costs Rs 80,250 against our Rs 5,999 and is placed above six cheaper products, because face capture at a gate is the only control here that does not depend on trusting somebody. If buddy punching is your problem, price is the wrong axis.
  • A seat block is treated as a construction-specific flaw. A 50-user minimum is merely expensive for a stable office. For a workforce that halves between projects it is structurally wrong, and the affected entries say so rather than repeating the generic warning.
  • Our own claim is limited to what the code does. Supervisor marking is permission-gated, role-scoped, self-excluding and stamped with who marked each record. We do not claim mock-location detection anywhere on this page, because we do not have it.
  • One row is deliberately stale. SalaryBox’s figures are dated June 2026 because its pricing page could not be re-read. Saying so is worth more than quietly presenting them as current.

Best in each category

Shiftelio

Cheapest way to run a crew where nobody carries a phone

Truein

Best when you would rather trust a device at the gate than a supervisor

PagarBook

Cheapest per-head plan with location already included

Kredily

Cheapest tier that can pay a daily wage at all

HROne

The only rival that publishes offline attendance in its base tier

greytHR

Deepest compliance for contract labour

SalaryBox

Straightforward per-user pricing once you accept the base fee

Zimyo

Cheapest geofence once the crew is genuinely fifty or more

The question that decides which of these you need

Who are you willing to trust: the worker, the supervisor, or nobody?

If you trust the worker and they carry a phone, this is an ordinary attendance problem and most of the list solves it. If you trust the supervisor, supervisor marking is the cheapest answer by a wide margin and the stamps tell you afterwards if that trust was misplaced. If you trust nobody, you want a device at the gate, and you should be looking at Truein and budgeting for the base fee rather than comparing per-head rates.

Answer that first and most of this page stops applying to you.

The whole list at a glance

Products compared by billing shape, location verification and annual cost at 25 employees
#ProductBilling shapeLocation verificationAt 25 staff
1Shiftelioour productFlat annual price by band: Rs 999, Rs 5,999 or Rs 14,999 a year, no per-seat charge and no seat floor. This page quotes Rs 5,999, which covers 3 locations. More active sites than that means the Rs 14,999 plan.Geofenced check-in with selfie capture in every plan, plus supervisor marking for workers with no phone: one supervisor opens their roster and marks the whole crew in and out. The worker needs no phone, no app and no account.Rs 5,999 for up to 3 sites. Rs 14,999 if you run more
2TrueinA Rs 69,000 a year base fee charged per customer on every plan, then Rs 250 per user per year on Time Capture or Rs 350 on Advanced. Live tracking is a further Rs 200 per user per year.Face capture at the site plus geofencing. Built around proving an arrival at a gate rather than movement around a route, which is exactly the construction shape.Rs 80,250 with live tracking. Rs 75,250 without it, and Rs 69,000 of that is the base fee before a single worker is counted
3PagarBookPer employee per year: Rs 699 for the App and Web plan, Rs 499 for mobile only. Add 18 percent GST.Included in the App and Web plan rather than charged separately, which is unusual on this list and worth crediting: most vendors here treat location as the upsell.Rs 17,475 before GST, about Rs 20,620 with it
4KredilyFree forever at Rs 0 with no employee limit. Payroll OS Rs 1,249 a month and Professional Rs 1,749 a month, each covering 25 employees.Nothing on the free tier or on Payroll OS. Selfie and GPS start at Professional, Rs 1,749 a month. There is no supervisor-marking equivalent published.Rs 14,988 on Payroll OS, the cheapest tier that can pay a daily wage. Rs 20,988 if you also want GPS
5HROneBasic Rs 4,950 a month covering 50 users, then Rs 99 per user. The page does not state whether that is monthly or annual billing.Geo-tagging, geo-fencing, selfie attendance and offline attendance are all in Basic, which is the widest base tier of any paid vendor we have compared.Rs 59,400, because the Rs 4,950 buys a 50-user block whether you have 50 or 25
6greytHREssential Rs 2,495 and Growth Rs 4,495 a month, each bundling 50 employees, then Rs 45 and Rs 85 above 50. No free plan, seven-day trial.Growth includes geofencing in the attendance module. GPS live tracking is a separate Rs 140 per user per month add-on, on Growth and Premium only.Rs 53,940 on Growth. Rs 95,940 with live tracking
7SalaryBoxA monthly base fee plus a per-user charge: Rs 3,000 a month plus Rs 75 per user on the Business plan, which is the tier that includes payroll. Live location tracking is a separate add-on at Rs 100 per user per month.A paid add-on, not part of any base plan, at Rs 100 per user per month.Rs 58,500 without tracking. Rs 88,500 with it
8ZimyoBasic Rs 80, Standard Rs 160 and Enterprise Rs 240 per user per month, with a minimum of 50 users on every tier stated on their own page.Geotagging and geofencing are in Basic. Selfie attendance is Standard-tier only, at double the per-user rate.Rs 48,000 for the geofence alone. Rs 96,000 with the selfie, because that moves everybody to Standard

1 of 8 · our product

Shiftelio

Cheapest way to run a crew where nobody carries a phone

Contractors paying daily or per-shift wages across two or three sites.

Shiftelio billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingFlat annual price by band: Rs 999, Rs 5,999 or Rs 14,999 a year, no per-seat charge and no seat floor. This page quotes Rs 5,999, which covers 3 locations. More active sites than that means the Rs 14,999 plan.
LocationGeofenced check-in with selfie capture in every plan, plus supervisor marking for workers with no phone: one supervisor opens their roster and marks the whole crew in and out. The worker needs no phone, no app and no account.
25 staff, per yearRs 5,999 for up to 3 sites. Rs 14,999 if you run more
SourceOur own pricing page, and our own source tree for the supervisor-marking guarantees, which are permission-gated, scoped and stamped rather than a free-for-all.

Choose it when

Most of your crew has no smartphone and you pay by the day or the shift. A supervisor marks the whole gang from one phone; every such record is stamped with who marked it, is limited to the departments and sites attached to that supervisor’s role, cannot be used on themselves, and can be sent for approval. At Rs 5,999 for 25 workers that is Rs 240 a head against Rs 17,475 at PagarBook and Rs 80,250 at Truein.

Look elsewhere when

You do not trust your supervisors, which on some sites is the honest position. Supervisor marking moves the trust from the worker to the person marking, and no amount of stamping changes that: if a foreman is inflating a gang, our audit trail tells you who did it afterwards rather than stopping it happening. Truein’s face capture at the gate is the right answer for that problem and we would tell you to buy it. We are also the wrong choice if you need PF and ESI challans filed rather than reports prepared, and if you have more than about a hundred workers.

Disclosure: this is our product and this page is on our website, which is exactly why the criterion is written out above, why every rival figure is dated and sourced, and why the paragraph above this one exists. Our prices are on the pricing page and there is nothing behind a "contact us". How we rank is set out on the methodology page. The most expensive product on this page is ranked directly above us, and its entry says to buy it if buddy punching is your real problem.

2 of 8

Truein

Best when you would rather trust a device at the gate than a supervisor

Face-based attendance for workers who own no phone, without a biometric machine.

Truein billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingA Rs 69,000 a year base fee charged per customer on every plan, then Rs 250 per user per year on Time Capture or Rs 350 on Advanced. Live tracking is a further Rs 200 per user per year.
LocationFace capture at the site plus geofencing. Built around proving an arrival at a gate rather than movement around a route, which is exactly the construction shape.
25 staff, per yearRs 80,250 with live tracking. Rs 75,250 without it, and Rs 69,000 of that is the base fee before a single worker is counted
Sourcetruein.com/pricing India INR figures, read August 2026.

Choose it when

Buddy punching by the gang is your actual problem and you want it stopped at the gate rather than investigated afterwards. Face capture on a shared device removes both the worker phone and the supervisor from the equation, which is the strongest control on this page and the only one that does not depend on somebody being honest.

Look elsewhere when

You are a small contractor. The Rs 69,000 base fee is charged per customer regardless of size, so 25 workers cost Rs 3,210 each while 250 workers cost Rs 726 each. It is a product priced for the larger firm, and below about a hundred workers the base fee is most of the bill. Check also whether a shared device survives your site: dust, gloves and bright sun are the practical enemies of face capture and no pricing page will tell you that.

3 of 8

PagarBook

Cheapest per-head plan with location already included

Daily-wage registers for small Indian employers.

PagarBook billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingPer employee per year: Rs 699 for the App and Web plan, Rs 499 for mobile only. Add 18 percent GST.
LocationIncluded in the App and Web plan rather than charged separately, which is unusual on this list and worth crediting: most vendors here treat location as the upsell.
25 staff, per yearRs 17,475 before GST, about Rs 20,620 with it
SourcePagarBook published per-employee rates, read August 2026. Full working on our PagarBook comparison.

Choose it when

You want a straightforward daily-wage register with location in the price and no seat block, no base fee and no add-on ladder. Its heritage is exactly this market, the pricing is honest about what it is, and at Rs 699 a head it is cheap in absolute terms even though three products here are cheaper per worker.

Look elsewhere when

Your crew is large. Per-employee-per-year pricing has no ceiling, so it scales linearly where our flat bands and Truein’s base fee do not: at 100 workers it is Rs 69,900 while our top band is Rs 14,999. It is also a lighter product than the HRMS options here if you need statutory depth as well as a register.

4 of 8

Kredily

Cheapest tier that can pay a daily wage at all

Employee records free, daily wages paid for a fee.

Kredily billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingFree forever at Rs 0 with no employee limit. Payroll OS Rs 1,249 a month and Professional Rs 1,749 a month, each covering 25 employees.
LocationNothing on the free tier or on Payroll OS. Selfie and GPS start at Professional, Rs 1,749 a month. There is no supervisor-marking equivalent published.
25 staff, per yearRs 14,988 on Payroll OS, the cheapest tier that can pay a daily wage. Rs 20,988 if you also want GPS
Sourcekredily.com/pricing including the plan comparison matrix, read August 2026.

Choose it when

You want a free employee database now and a daily-wage payroll later, and everybody works at one site. Kredily is the only vendor on this page whose free tier has no headcount cap, so there is no cost to starting there while you decide.

Look elsewhere when

You believed the free tier would cover a construction site. Read their comparison table before anything else: Free Forever explicitly excludes overtime and daily wages, and on a site paying by the day that is not a missing feature, it is the whole job. It also excludes salary payouts, PF and ESI challans and Form 16. Everything you need starts at Payroll OS, Rs 14,988 a year for 25, and that tier still has no location of any kind.

5 of 8

HROne

The only rival that publishes offline attendance in its base tier

A full HRMS for a construction firm of fifty people or more.

HROne billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingBasic Rs 4,950 a month covering 50 users, then Rs 99 per user. The page does not state whether that is monthly or annual billing.
LocationGeo-tagging, geo-fencing, selfie attendance and offline attendance are all in Basic, which is the widest base tier of any paid vendor we have compared.
25 staff, per yearRs 59,400, because the Rs 4,950 buys a 50-user block whether you have 50 or 25
Sourcehrone.cloud/pricing, read in full August 2026. No bot wall.

Choose it when

Half-built sites have no network and you want that handled rather than argued about. Offline attendance in a base tier is genuinely rare, and a basement or a rural site will lose signal at exactly the moment somebody is clocking in. If you are buying a full HRMS anyway and you are at fifty people, this is the one to look at.

Look elsewhere when

You have 25 workers. The 50-user block makes it Rs 2,376 per head against the Rs 1,188 implied, which is ten times our per-head figure for a crew that size. Nothing published addresses workers without smartphones, which for most construction firms is the first question rather than the last.

6 of 8

greytHR

Deepest compliance for contract labour

Statutory payroll where the compliance burden is the real problem.

greytHR billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingEssential Rs 2,495 and Growth Rs 4,495 a month, each bundling 50 employees, then Rs 45 and Rs 85 above 50. No free plan, seven-day trial.
LocationGrowth includes geofencing in the attendance module. GPS live tracking is a separate Rs 140 per user per month add-on, on Growth and Premium only.
25 staff, per yearRs 53,940 on Growth. Rs 95,940 with live tracking
Sourcegreythr.com/pricing, read August 2026.

Choose it when

Contract labour compliance is what keeps you awake: PF, ESI, professional tax and the paperwork around them. On statutory depth it beats most of this list, and for a construction business with a large contract workforce that can matter more than anything on the attendance side.

Look elsewhere when

Attendance is the problem you are actually buying for. Rs 140 per user per month for live tracking is Rs 42,000 a year at 25 workers on its own, the 50-employee bundle means a small crew pays for fifty, and nothing published covers workers without smartphones. To correct a claim we ourselves once repeated: greytHR has no free tier, only a seven-day trial.

7 of 8

SalaryBox

Straightforward per-user pricing once you accept the base fee

Small Indian employers wanting attendance and payroll together.

SalaryBox billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingA monthly base fee plus a per-user charge: Rs 3,000 a month plus Rs 75 per user on the Business plan, which is the tier that includes payroll. Live location tracking is a separate add-on at Rs 100 per user per month.
LocationA paid add-on, not part of any base plan, at Rs 100 per user per month.
25 staff, per yearRs 58,500 without tracking. Rs 88,500 with it
Sourcesalarybox.in/pricing, read June 2026. We could not re-read the page in August 2026, so this row carries the older date deliberately rather than a fresher one it has not earned.

Choose it when

You want attendance and payroll from one small-business vendor and the base-plus-per-user shape suits how you think about cost. It is a reasonable product; it is placed here because nothing about it is built for a construction site specifically.

Look elsewhere when

You are comparing on price or on recency. Rs 88,500 with tracking is Rs 3,540 a head, and this is the one row on the page whose figures are two months older than the rest, which we have said rather than quietly refreshed. Nothing published covers workers without smartphones or daily-wage payout specifically.

8 of 8

Zimyo

Cheapest geofence once the crew is genuinely fifty or more

A full HRMS for a larger construction business.

Zimyo billing, location verification and annual cost
BillingBasic Rs 80, Standard Rs 160 and Enterprise Rs 240 per user per month, with a minimum of 50 users on every tier stated on their own page.
LocationGeotagging and geofencing are in Basic. Selfie attendance is Standard-tier only, at double the per-user rate.
25 staff, per yearRs 48,000 for the geofence alone. Rs 96,000 with the selfie, because that moves everybody to Standard
Sourcezimyo.com/pricing, read in full August 2026, including the stated 50-user minimum.

Choose it when

You have fifty or more permanent staff and want one HRMS for the office as well as the site. At exactly fifty users Basic is Rs 48,000 a year with geofencing, which is genuinely competitive for a complete HRMS.

Look elsewhere when

Your headcount moves with the project, which on a construction site it always does. A 50-user minimum is the worst possible shape for a workforce that is eighty people in March and twenty in July: you pay for fifty in both months. The selfie sitting a tier above the geofence is the second problem, and nothing published covers workers without smartphones.

Questions people ask before choosing

How do I record attendance for construction workers who have no smartphone?

Two approaches work, and they trust different people. In Shiftelio a supervisor opens their roster and marks the whole gang in and out from one phone: the worker needs no phone, no app and no account, and every such record is stamped with who marked it, is limited to the sites and departments attached to that supervisor’s role, cannot be used on themselves, and can be sent for approval. Truein takes the other approach and puts face capture on a shared device at the gate, which removes both the worker’s phone and the supervisor from the process. PagarBook’s daily-wage register covers the case in practice as a manager-maintained record. Everywhere else on this page, nothing is published about workers without phones at all.

Which attendance app can actually pay a daily wage?

Fewer than you would expect, and one very common recommendation cannot. Kredily’s free tier explicitly excludes overtime and daily wages on their own comparison table, which on a construction site is not a limitation but the entire job; those start at Payroll OS, Rs 14,988 a year for 25 people. Shiftelio calculates per-shift and daily wages from verified attendance in every plan. PagarBook is built around the daily-wage register and SalaryBox includes payroll on its Business tier. Before you migrate anything, open the vendor’s feature comparison and look for the words overtime and daily wage specifically, because a plan that calculates a monthly salary perfectly may have no concept of either.

What is the cheapest attendance app for a construction site in India?

Shiftelio at Rs 5,999 a year for up to 25 workers across three sites, which is Rs 240 a head with geofenced check-in, selfie capture and supervisor marking included. We make it, so here is the comparison rather than the claim: Kredily’s cheapest daily-wage-capable tier is Rs 14,988 with no location at all, PagarBook is Rs 17,475, greytHR Rs 53,940, HROne Rs 59,400 and Truein Rs 80,250, of which Rs 69,000 is a base fee charged before a single worker is counted. If you run more than three active sites, our Rs 14,999 band is the right one and the table above says so.

How do I stop one worker punching in for another?

Decide who you are willing to trust, because every option here moves the trust rather than removing it. A selfie moves it to whoever reviews the photos. Supervisor marking moves it to the foreman, which is why our version stamps who marked each record, scopes a supervisor to their own sites, and stops them marking themselves: it tells you afterwards who inflated a gang. Face capture on a shared device at the gate, which is Truein’s approach, is the only option here that does not depend on somebody being honest, and it is why Truein ranks second on this page despite being the most expensive product on it. Be sceptical of any vendor claiming to defeat this outright, ourselves included.

Do these apps work when a site has no mobile network?

Only two on this page address it. Shiftelio queues punches on the device and syncs when signal returns, and HROne publishes offline attendance in its Basic tier. For the rest, no offline capability appears anywhere in the pricing pages we read, which is not proof they lack it but does mean you should ask and get the answer in writing. On a half-built site it is not a corner case: the network is worst exactly where the work is.

Why is a 50-user minimum bad for construction specifically?

Because construction headcount moves with the project and a seat block does not. Zimyo states a 50-user minimum on every tier, and HROne, factoHR and greytHR all bundle around 50 employees into the base price. A crew that is eighty people in March and twenty in July pays for fifty in both months, so the months you most need the cost to fall are the months it does not. Flat annual bands and per-employee pricing both handle that shape better, which is why PagarBook and Shiftelio sit where they do on the cost table despite Zimyo having a lower advertised per-user rate.

Can I split labour cost by site for billing a project?

This is the question to put to every vendor before you buy, and it is the one least likely to be answered on a pricing page. What you need is attendance recorded against a site rather than a company, so that a month’s labour cost can be attributed to a project rather than reconciled by hand afterwards. Ask for a demonstration on real data rather than a yes: the difference between an app that tags a site on the punch and one that can produce a per-site cost report is invisible until the first month-end.

How was this list ordered?

By fit for a construction site specifically: whether the software can record a worker who owns no smartphone, whether it can pay a daily wage at all, and whether the pricing shape survives a headcount that moves with the project. That is a different question from our GPS comparison and our field-staff comparison, and it produces a noticeably different order, with Truein second here and further down elsewhere. Jibble, ubiAttendance, StaffApp, Spintly and Clappia were left out because no figure for them could be read first hand.

Work the numbers yourself

The compliance arithmetic is the same whichever you pick, and it is free to check. These calculators show their working as text, with no signup and no email.

Other comparisons on this site

Each of these ranks against a different question, so they reach different answers. The one you want is the one whose question is yours.

The criteria this list is ordered by, what counts as a source, and how often the figures are re-checked are set out on our methodology page. Plan structures, base fees, seat minimums and add-on prices were checked in August 2026against each vendor's own published pricing page, except SalaryBox, whose figures are dated June 2026 because its page could not be re-read. Where an entry says nothing is published about workers without smartphones or about offline capture, that means the vendor's pricing pages do not mention it, not that the product lacks it. Jibble, ubiAttendance, StaffApp, Spintly and Clappia were considered and left out because no figure for them could be read first hand. All product names and trademarks belong to their respective owners and are used for identification only; no affiliation or endorsement is implied. Shiftelio is our own product and is marked as such. If you believe anything here is inaccurate, write to support@shiftelio.com and we will correct it and say that we did.